Men's Results

Thursday 16th May 

  • Stableford Division 1: A. Kirkpatrick 42, G. Brown 40, J. Van Helden 39, A. Abrahams 38, D. Griffin 38
  • Division 2: J. Williams 41, R. Third 41, B. Allen 40, G. Eriksen 39, G. Kemp 39, D. Bush 39 
  • Twos: M. Thomas, V. Richardson, F. Ball, G. Clapham, P. Graham 
  • Nearest to pin: V. Richardson 

Saturday 18th May 

  • Stableford Division 1: S. Andreassen 43, T. Goldsmith 39, A. Abrahams 38, D. Griffin 38 
  • Division 2
  • C. Christie 42, D. Mettrick 40, B. Payne 39, N. Absalom 39 
  • Twos: S. Andreassen, D. Griffin
  • Nearest to pin: C. Poole 

 Sunday 19.05.19 

  • Stableford Division 1: M. Jefferson 43, P. Rickard 38, N. Richardson 37, R. Morley 37 
  • Division 2: K. Gunness 40, L. Gunther 38, K. Travers 36, M. Karalus 36 
  • Twos: M. Jefferson, C. Christie 
  • Nearest to pin: C. Christie      


It's all out in the Open!

Hey members and friends. You are today seeing the start of an early communication promotion for the Emerre and Hathaway Poverty Bay Open.

For those of you who have not been with us before, the Poverty Bay Open consists of two rounds of stroke play qualifying on the Thursday.  Players are then placed into sections of 16. Two rounds of match play follow on the Friday, and semifinals and finals are played on the Saturday.

As part of a push to promote our flagship event, we have worked on a plan to include a hospitality package as part of the entry fee. We have taken the hint from our local country club brothers at Te Puia, Tolaga, Mahia, Tahunga, Waikohu and Patutahi – and want to make some attempt at returning their hospitality in the provision of most meals during the tournament.

We plan to set up a kind of Corporate Hospitality Centre in front of the clubhouse around the First Tee. So, weather permitting, there will more of a festive atmosphere to this year's big event.

To get the catering ball rolling, BDO has offered to sponsor lunches for all players, for all three days of the event. BDO will be setting up a marquee by the First Tee where club member and professional caterer Paul Bayly will be serving hearty lunches. Lunch will be available from 11am to 2pm each day – as players finish their morning round. You'll get vouchers for lunch each day with your morning score card.

Plus we'll be setting up an al fresco beer bar under the lounge balcony, so even though you are not allowed to take alcohol on to the course while playing in the tournament, you can grab a beer or two with your lunch between rounds, if that's your thing.

On Friday night, before the bidding starts on the Calcutta, we're putting on a big spread – a Colonial Camp Oven traditional roast dinner with all the trimmings including desserts.

On Saturday night, around prize giving, we'll be handing out table platters of assorted nibbles.

Breakfasts will be served each morning as usual in the upstairs dining room but these will be at player's cost.

So that's the deal. We've got the ball rolling early however we would to love to see past and present local and out of town players return and indeed welcome any new entrants. The aim is to get a full field across 7 divisions this year – that's 112 players and make the 2019 Emerre & Hathaway Open one to really remember, and one that will set the standard for the years ahead to ensure the Poverty Bay Open remains on the calendar.

Please use the downloadable entry form on this website.

Any questions please contact the pro shop on 06 8674402.



Par and sub par gross scores since January 1, 2019:

  • Peter Kerekere 67 (Mar 24)
  • Willie Brown 68 (May 12)
  • Anaru Reedy 68 (Mar 25)
  • Peter Anderson 68 (Feb 24)
  • Allan White 71 (Jan 1)
  • Stefan Andfeasson 71 (Jan 6)
  • Glenn Morley 71 (Feb 17)
  • Peter Stewart 72 (Jan 1)
  • Mark Jefferson (Mar 31)



Entries are being taken now for the BMS
Queens Birthday Weekend Event



Barns Graham 2019

Entries are being taken now for the Gisborne
Motors Barns Graham & Bryan Cup & Barns Graham Plate event.

Qualifyng Round is on Saturday, June 15.





Andy Abrahams Shootout


Leaderboard as at Sunday, May 12



Men's Committe for 2018-2019 season:

  • Club Captain – John Van Helden
  • Deputy Cub Captain – Anaru Reedy
  • Larry Foster
  • Peter Clayton
  • Gray Clapham
  • Mark Hunt


Women's Notices

Women's Regular Golf Days:

From February 11: Monday/Wednesday starting 8.30am.

Saturday 12.30pm or contact the Pro Shop for a start time.

9 hole golf Wednesday/Saturday – 9am start

Women’s Vets March - September third Friday of each month


Women's Results

KAHLENBERG CUP Round 1 (match play)

  • Miggles Shanks & Marg Lane def Marg Colebourne & Vicki Fraser
  • Mary Allan & Jan Steele def Lynne Holmberg & Odette Thompson

KAHLENBERG CUP Round 2 (match play)

  • Miggles Shanks & Marg Lane def Viv Bell & Fay Pell
  • Sally Spence & June MacKinnon def Karen Crosby & Colleen Skuse
  • Jan Utting & Leigh Fletcher def Gay Young & Louise Sheppard
  • Mary Allan & Jan Steele def Max Francois & Sue Kemp

15.05.19 Stableford

  • Anne Gemmell 92 – 24 -42 points





Women’s Committee for 2018-2019 season:

  • Women's President: Leigh Fletcher
  • Women’s Vice Presidents: Vicki Fraser & Marg Colebourne
  • Women’s Club Captain: Viv Bell
  • June MacKinnon
  • Karen Crosby
  • Jennifer Alderson
  • Odette Thompson
  • Marg Lane
  • Jan Utting
  • Jan Steele
  • Verna Harnett
  • Anne Gemmell




A Gift Voucher from the Pro Shop.
You nominate the value.


Clubroom Hire


See pictures of club lounge set up for weddings and functions.